Nine from Army Football Earn Preseason AccoladesNine members of the Army West Point Football Team have received recognition as members of Phil Steele's 2019 Preseason Independent Team. Firsties Cole Christiansen, Jaylon McClinton, Elijah Riley, Connor Slomka and Kell Walker were selected as first team members. Among the second team recipients were firsties Kelvin Hopkins Jr. and Jaxson Deaton, cow JB Hunter and yearling Arik Smith. In the magazine's preseason forecast, the Black Knights rank second among Independent teams, sitting just behind 2018 College Football Playoff qualifier Notre Dame. Army will kick off its 2019 campaign on Aug. 30 in a 6 p.m. contest against Rice at Michie Stadium. Read more.

Other news