Hopkins Jr. Earns Fourth Preseason HonorCollege Football Performance Awards (CFPA) announced its 2019 preseason watch list for the CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy and Kelvin Hopkins Jr. is among the nation's top players.

Thirty-four players earned spots on the list, including 2018 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy winner Tua Tagovailoa.

This is the Charlotte, N.C., native's fourth preseason honor as he was also added to the Walter Camp Award, Maxwell Award and Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award watch lists.

Under center last year, Hopkins Jr. became the first player in Academy history to throw and rush for 1,000 yards in the same season. He also registered five rushing touchdowns in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl to tie the Army single-game record. The Charlotte, N.C., native closed out his first year as the primary play caller with 17 rushing touchdowns, which tied Carlton Jones '06 and Trent Steelman '13 for a single-season program record.

The 2019 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy is a 22-inch K-9 optic crystal tower with eight-inch crystal football on top. All FBS players are eligible for the award. The award winner will be announced January 15, 2020. Read more.

Other news