Army Welcomes New Hall of Fame ClassThe Army West Point Athletic Association officially added five new members to the Army Sports Hall of Fame this past Friday evening at Eisenhower Hall. The Class of 2019 honored tonight were former head wrestling coach Lloyd Appleton, cross country and track and field standout Mike Bernstein, gymnastics star Carl Brunson, track and field great Dennis Trujillo and two-sport standout Mortimore (Bud) Sprague.

In addition to honoring the new members of the hall of fame, the Honorable Samuel Lessey Jr. was given the distinguished service award and he became the ninth honoree of the award since 2006 and first since 2014. One of the top honors bestowed by the Army West Point Athletic Association, the Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual for significant contributions to the intercollegiate program. It is not presented annually, but only in years when the athletic department identifies a deserving recipient. He joins Jack Hammack, Morris Herbert, Herb Lichtenberg, Lou Gross, Lew Zickel, Gus Fishburne, Carl Goldstein and Bob Outer as recipients of the award.

The new hall of fame class was also recognized during the plaque unveiling ceremony at the Kenna Hall of Army Sports prior to the banquet at Ike Hall. The newest class will also be honored during halftime of tomorrow afternoon's football game at Michie Stadium.

Appleton was named to the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1983 after becoming an Olympic Silver Medalist in 1928 in the 158-pound weight class. He racked up 86 wins at Army in 19 seasons for a .623 winning percentage. He tutored 10 Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association Champions and 39 EIWA Placewinners at the helm of the Black Knights. He also coached national runner-up Al Paulekas in 1953.

Bernstein was a three-time NCAA All-American for the Black Knights and earned 10 varsity letters while at West Point. He was a two-time NCAA selection in cross country during his career and led the Black Knights to a sixth-place finish at the 1993 NCAA Championships in 1993. Read more.

Other news