CPT Bailey ’12 & CPT Beebe ’12 Selected Olmsted Scholars

CPT Bailey ’12 & CPT Beebe ’12 Selected Olmsted ScholarsWPAOG congratulates CPT Joseph B. Bailey '12 and CPT Frederick E. Beebe '12 on their selection as Olmsted Scholars in the class of 2021.

The Olmsted Scholar Program was established in 1959 by MG (R) George H. Olmsted, First Captain of the West Point Class of 1922.

The program provides a two-and-a-half to three-year educational experience that includes full-time graduate study at a foreign university in the non-English language of that country. All five branches of the military nominate young officers for the Olmsted program each year. Candidates are selected for their propensity and aptitude for leadership.

Bailey, an Armor officer, will study in Aix-en-Provence, France, and Beebe, an Engineer, will study in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil.

Notable West Point graduates who were Olmsted Scholars include Ambassador John P. Abizaid ’73, former Commander, U.S. Central Command, and Lieutenant General (Ret.) Patrick J. Donahue ‘80, former Deputy Commander, U.S. Forces Command.

Other news