Riley Finalist for Spencer Penrose AwardHead coach Brian Riley was one of 10 college hockey coaches named as finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, which is given to the CCM/AHCA Division I Men's Hockey Coach of the Year.

Riley led the Black Knights to a .705 winning percentage at 15-6-1, which is currently eighth in the nation. Army made an appearance in the nation's top 20 National Poll and reached the Atlantic Hockey Tournament semifinals. Riley also led Army to a 13-game unbeaten, which was the longest in the nation for the 2020-21 regular season and the second-longest win streak at nine games.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, as well as coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2021 NCAA Frozen Four. The only coach who has done both is Minnesota State's Mike Hastings. Of this year's finalists, six are past recipients of this award: Brad Berry of North Dakota (2020), Greg Carvel of UMass (2019), Mike Hastings of Minnesota State (2015), Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac (2016), Scott Sandelin of Minnesota Duluth (2004) and Jerry York of Boston College (1977.)

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. Riley will look to join his father, Jack Riley, as winners of the Spencer Penrose Award. Jack Riley earned the honor in 1957 and 1960 while coaching at West Point.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday, April 6. Read more.

Other news